Microsoft Office Forums

Go Back   Microsoft Office Forums > >

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2015, 02:52 PM
Procwriter Procwriter is offline changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Windows 8 changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Office 2010 32bit
Novice
changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Procwriter is on a distinguished road
Default changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents

While in a document, if I make a change in Track Change Options/Advanced Options, the change will occur in all my documents. For example, if I change Deletions from Strikethrough to Hidden the changes is accepted in the open document but is also changed in all my other stored documents. Any ideas on how to unlink the other documents?

Last edited by Procwriter; 04-10-2015 at 02:55 PM. Reason: added additional info.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2015, 06:58 PM
Charles Kenyon Charles Kenyon is online now changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Windows 8 changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Office 2013
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Posts: 6,854
Charles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to behold
Default

There is no way. This is an application-wide setting and is not set in the document. So, if you send the document to someone else, it is their settings that will apply, not the ones you use.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2015, 07:53 PM
Procwriter Procwriter is offline changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Windows 8 changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Office 2010 32bit
Novice
changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Procwriter is on a distinguished road
Default

Any idea which setting would allow a change in a single document to affect all other documents?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2015, 09:11 PM
Procwriter Procwriter is offline changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Windows 8 changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Office 2010 32bit
Novice
changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Procwriter is on a distinguished road
Default

I sent two documents to someone else. The documents had different "track change" attribute when opened. However, when I made a tracked change (i.e. "strikethrough" to "Underlined") to one document the change also occurred in the other. They remained linked somehow. Does anybody have an idea which setting would cause this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2015, 02:17 AM
Charles Kenyon Charles Kenyon is online now changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Windows 8 changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Office 2013
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Posts: 6,854
Charles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to beholdCharles Kenyon is a splendid one to behold
Default

Again, these are application-wide settings, not document settings. They do not relate to any specific document or template, they are how Word works on your computer.

This is like the setting on whether to display field codes or results. It is something that you set for your Word application and it stays set the way you set it for all documents until you change it, even if you close and reopen Word.

It will never change how someone else, viewing the same document on a different computer, sees the document. There is nothing short of complex macros that probably will not run on someone else's machine (and may annoy them if they do) that can attach such a setting to a specific document. Such macros would change the settings on the recipient machine and might well be regarded as acting like a virus by the recipient.

If you want something fixed, save as pdf and transmit the pdf, possibly with the Word document.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Updating time stamp only when changes have been made and re-saved ashmo0024 Word 1 09-05-2014 01:46 PM
changes made in track changes advanced option are made to all saved documents Documents hung up, Word won't close due to "Changes made..to global template Normal.dotm" pagskg Word 2 07-23-2014 12:54 PM
I made an error puterlover Word 2 03-04-2013 02:05 PM
Track changes made to worksheet trybbe Excel Programming 1 02-01-2013 01:06 AM

Other Forums: Access Forums - Senior Forums

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
MSOfficeForums.com is not affiliated with Microsoft