View Single Post

Old 10-27-2013, 12:37 AM
sala-marie sala-marie is offline Windows 7 64bit Office 2000
Novice

sala-marie is on a distinguished road
Default Outlook export to a calendar csv file is transposing single digit starting dates

Hi. I have a problem !! [No, not that one ! ] Basically, I’m not a programmer, and need to find someone with some [ fairly basic] programming skills, which are really more in the nature of batch files I suppose. Here are the details:-

MS, in their infinite wisdom no longer support any of the programs I have bought and paid for, but they are old ones, so maybe that’s OK.
Whatever the reason, I am now forced to abandon XP, and also Office 2000, which I have always used.

So I got a laptop with Windows 7, which is very good. My problem is that Outlook 2000 won’t run on it. A well documented problem, I’ve found out. OK. Word and Excel are OK, so it’s just the PIM side of Outlook that I use. Thunderbird for emails is great.

So I’ve tried several PIMS, [currently like EssentialPIM], but it [ and most of them] won’t import from Outlook 2000.
They don’t read the .pst backup file. They can import a CSV file for contacts, and I’ve done that. The problem is the CALENDAR side, for Appointments etc. They only import from ICAL format. However, I can convert the Calendar.csv file to Ical through various conversion facilities.

However, in the course of this, I now find that all the dates in my Excel . CSV file that begin with a single digit [ as Excel always drops a leading 0,] have transposed the day with the month. So what should be 09/01/2011 has become 1/09/2011. And 05/08/2012 would become 8/05/2011.

Don’t ask me how or why, as it took me long enough just to discover what was happening, as you can imagine.!!