View Single Post

Old 11-07-2019, 05:54 AM
taryn taryn is offline Windows 10 Office 2016
Novice

taryn is on a distinguished road
Default Copying text from a cell in the footer and pasting it into a hyperlink address

Hello

I am trying to create a macro that will run automatically when a word document is opened and will do the following:

1) Copy the six digits contained in a table located in the footer of the 1st page of the document;
2) Paste the above six digits into the address of a hyperlink also located in the table in the footer of the 1st page of the document (different cell) replacing some of the text already in the address.

I am completely new to word macros and the Record Macro button only does what I ask partly:
==================================================

Sub Macro3()
'
' Macro3 Macro
'
'
If ActiveWindow.View.SplitSpecial <> wdPaneNone Then
ActiveWindow.Panes(2).Close
End If
If ActiveWindow.ActivePane.View.Type = wdNormalView Or ActiveWindow. _
ActivePane.View.Type = wdOutlineView Then
ActiveWindow.ActivePane.View.Type = wdPrintView
End If
ActiveWindow.ActivePane.View.SeekView = wdSeekCurrentPageFooter
Selection.Range.Copy
ChangeFileOpenDirectory _
"C:\Users\taryn.avellano\Documents\ViewPoint.gibsq l01.VPMain"
Selection.Range.Hyperlinks(1).Range.Fields(1).Resu lt.Select
Selection.Range.Hyperlinks(1).Delete
ActiveDocument.Hyperlinks.Add Anchor:=Selection.Range, Address:= _
"https://secure.worldpay.com/wcc/purchase?instId=1033965&cartId=20150013&amount=(+D T.EURO+)&currency=GBP&desc=WorldPay+Test&testMode= 100" _
, SubAddress:=""
Selection.Collapse Direction:=wdCollapseEnd
End Sub

==================================================

The above macro does copy the six digits (i.e. 20150013) and pastes it into the hyperlink address. However, it has the following limitations, which makes it unusable for me, as I need it to require no action on behalf of the user opening the document: