View Single Post

Old 07-27-2014, 10:57 AM
whatsup whatsup is offline Windows 7 64bit Office 2010 32bit
Competent Performer

whatsup will become famous soon enough

Hi CoolBlue

Sorry, it took me longer as I told in the PM.
Now, that seems to become a fulltime job - I'm not sure if I can summon up that time.

I studied your pic now for quite a while and wonder how serious you're about the reference of
rawSheets(1).Range("A1") and
rawSheet1.Range("A1")
Be aware that though basically it's the same object, the references or pointers may differ. Sheets(1) is an object of a spreadsheet relative to its position in the workbook whereas Sheet1 is a - you may say - static object within a workbook.
I don't know if it is the right thing to put it, but to explain it more visually:
For Sheets(1): Is assigned a pointer, which itself points to the object Sheet1. To say there are 2 pointers necessary.
Sheet1 instead, as it is the end of the line of objects, only needs 1 pointer.
So don't get confused, if the two cases show different pointers.

Quote:
I made a tool to parse the memory structure of these objects and I can show a map of what is going on in your Mod02_objRange module...
What you mean with this? You can't probably monitor the entire memory, can you?

I think the key would be to know about the structure of an object. Unfortunately the CombSite stops before he comes to this. On purpose? I can imagine, that the structure is quite difficult. Probably even containing references to various pointers, which all together only forming an object?

Quote:
Although its useful for investigating the memory structure, the range object is not a useful example for checking garbage collection since no object structures are created... there are only references to global Range Objects which are not part of VBA's garbage collection